Lely Calm

Lely Calm

Categorie: Feeding
Industrie: Dairy
Description

Video: http://www.lely.com/en/feeding/calf-feeder/calm

The best start for your calves    

The best start for your calves

When a calf drinks from its mother, it usually drinks adequate portions spread over the day. However, in today’s dairy industry when a calf is fed manually, this is restricted to once or twice a day. This is why Lely has introduced the Lely Calm automatic calf feeder, which supplies the correct portion and concentration of feed spread over the day, resembling the natural behaviour of the calf. The Calm calf feeder offers the calves an outstanding start, while giving labour savings and many economic benefits. The accurate and small portions spread over the day enhance substantially the development of the digestive organs of the calf, while feeding and monitoring 60 calves takes only 20 minutes per day with the Calm calf feeder. The Calm calf feeder is an absolute must for each dairy farm that puts animal welfare at the top of its priority list.

Rearing without stress

Rearing without stress

When a calf drinks from its mother, it usually drinks adequate portions spread over the day. However, in today’s dairy farming when a calf is fed manually, this is restricted to once or twice a day. This is why Lely introduced the Lely Calm automatic calf feeder, which supplies the correct portion and concentration of feed spread over the day, resembling the natural behaviour of the calf. The Calm calf feeder offers the calves an outstanding start, while giving labour savings and many economic benefits. The accurate and small portions spread over the day substantially enhance the development of the digestive organs of the calf. Calves are weaned gently by gradually reducing their milk portions. Slowly reducing the milk yield will ensure that the calves automatically increase their intake of roughage. Monitoring your calves only takes a few minutes per day with the Calm calf feeder. The Lely Calm is an absolute must for each dairy farm that puts animal welfare at the top of its priority list. The Lely Calm is the perfect way of preparing for a milk producing life with a milking robot. The animals learn from a young age to get their milk; this makes them assertive and, above all, they become accustomed to automatic feeders and all the noises that they make. The dairy farmer will profit from this when a heifer walks into an automatic milking system for the first time. A Lely Calm automatic calf feeder will pay for itself by means of healthier calves, increased growth, increased feed efficiency and labour savings. A Lely Calm offers labour-savings of 60 to 70%; it will pay for itself in three years. The Calm calf feeder is a reliable calf feeder with minimal maintenance.



A la carte

A la carte

As soon as a calf enters a milk station, it is recognised by its electronic transponder and, according to the calf’s’ feeding plan, the Lely Calm calf feeder decides if it is allowed to drink, and how much. A minimum and maximum portion of milk per visit can be set for each calf, then the calf feeder will automatically determine the ration per calf. If the calf is indeed allowed to drink, the calf feeder immediately prepares a fresh portion of milk at the predetermined temperature.



Quick adjustment

Quick adjustment

The Lely Calm also offers a learning function. One push at the button provides a small shot of milk which helps you to teach your calves how to drink from the feeder. The drinking station will work every time the same way, dosing pre-set amount of milk in a pre-set temperature. Calves easily get acquainted with the automatic calf feeder. The Lely drinking station is very easy to adjust to various sizes of calves.

Perfect overview
Perfect overview

The Calm calf feeder gives you the fl exibility to check the performance of the calves whenever you want. The Lely Calm can be connected to Lely’s T4C advanced management programme, giving you a clear overview and ease of control of all your calves through your PC. It also allows you to generate reports and graphs of milk rations per calf. You can choose for feeding only fresh milk, only powder milk or a combination of both.

How does it work?

This is how the Lely Calm works
The Lely Calm automatically mixes a measure of milk powder and hot water (the drinking temperature is 39 degrees / 102.2 F) to one portion of milk. The milk powder should be suitable for automatic feeders. The automatic feeder recognizes the animals from the transponders around their necks. As a result, the Calm knows exactly how much milk the calf should have, and not a drop more or less. Due to this individual recognition, calves of different ages can be held in one group, but it is also possible to have one feeder operate for two separate groups. When calves do not come to the feeder, the Calm will make an attention list of the animals that did not feed and in this way these animals will demand the attention of the farmer.



Labour input
Labour input

One of the most important aspects of the Lely Calm automatic calf feeder’s benefits is the labour saving. Labour availability is becoming more and more important on dairy farms. Farmers and their workers will have to improve efficiency even further to be able to achieve a reasonable income and the calf rearing is an area where often some very large savings can be made. One of the biggest savings is the reduction of time for milk preparation and the actual feeding of the milk. The Calm calf feeder works from a central unit, which prepares the milk and distributes it to a drinking station where the calf will receive her portion. Cleaning is another feature; no more cleaning of all the buckets. The Calm feeder can be equipped with an automatic cleaning kit. Due to the central feeding alley compared to feeding roughage per pen this time is reduced as well. The Calm calf feeder will also drastically reduce management time, which is done by the exception reports and alerts you will receive from the process controller. Some considerable additional benefits can come from the extra time available for observation of the calves.

 

Economics

Economics

A Lely Calm automatic calf feeder will pay for itself by means of healthier calves, increased growth, decreased milk powder consumption and labour savings. The Calm calf feeder is a reliable calf feeder with minimal maintenance. The annual cost of the machine is therefore much lower than the annual profit per reared calf. The calves are more efficient with the milk powder due to the fact that they are better fed. Due to the better factors of feeding the vet will not have to visit your calves, which is another saving. One of the major aspects is labour and especially on large farms, where special people are employed, for rearing calves. They will feel the relief of their physical work. On farms rearing 60 calves per year the machine will pay for itself within three years. Our representatives are always willing to make calculations for your own dairy farm. Moreover, do not forget to take into account that an excellent start with the Calm calf feeder will contribute to having the milking heifers on their insemination weight a couple of months quicker, resulting in earlier calving of the heifer. This will have a positive effect on your pre-production milking costs!



Hygiene

Hygiene

Internal cleaning of the Lely Calm automatic calf feeder is done automatically. Additional options are available to further improve on the hygiene aspects of the Calm calf feeder. The fl y protection protects the mixer jar and the powder outlet against dirt coming into a freshly prepared portion of milk. In the winter time when the vapour creates condensation to the powder outlet above the mixer jar, this can result into the building up of milk powder at the powder outlet. The powder outlet can be equipped with an additional heating element to keep the outlet dryer.



Calf village

Calf village

Modern calf housing offers maximum comfort for calves and labour-saving management. Each calf should have sufficient accommodation area with a minimum of 1.10 m2 lying area per calf. The benefit of group housing is that social interaction between the animals is increased. A well littered and well-aired lying area improves calf health and is easy to observe. Also, the dung removal from the accommodation area should be easy. Keep Lely Calm automatic calf feeder in an insulated store- and function room where you have a frost-free water supply, dry and clean storage for milk powder and concentrates and convenient operation of the automatic feeder in all weathers. An adequate feeding place guarantees the best possible growth for your calves. Every animal should have her own feeding place.

 

Key benefits

Key benefits

• Time saving.
• Quicker growth rate.
• Better rumen development.
• Labour fl exibility.
• Individual calf management.
• Stable and exact milk temperature.
• Flexible feeding schedules.
• Weaning without stress.
• Suitable for all farm sizes



Better growth

Better growth

For calves housed in groups, a Lely Calm automatic calf feeder is the perfect solution. Depending on the type of automatic feeder, it can provide 25-30 calves with

predetermined portions of milk several times a day. This way of feeding is particularly suited to the biorhythm of the animal. The calf drinking station prepares each

portion in the same way.

  • Distribution to a natural pattern over the day.
  • Fresh preparation of each portion.
  • Correct temperature of 39 degrees Celsius (102 F) for the calf’s digestive system.
  • Accurate distribution of milk powder.
  • Milk quantity per visit may depend on the age of the calf.

 

This results in a better health and growth. Loss is limited during the rearing stage. The Calm provides milk at a constant temperature, at the same concentration and in portions that are precisely adapted to the calf’s needs. It is also quite easy to feed the animals four times a day and then gradually reduce the milk yield so that weaning takes place slowly. The animals will then have more time for the intake of roughage which will stimulate rumen development. The calves will be trained to the stage of ruminant more quickly and will have less weaning problems.

Lely Calm

Lely Calm

Categorie: Alimentation
Industrie: Laiti&egrace;re
Description
Documentation

Vidéo: http://www.lely.com/fr/alimentation_2/dal-veaux/calm

Le meilleur démarrage pour vos veaux

Le meilleur démarrage pour vos veaux

Lorsqu’un veau tête sa mère, sa ration est répartie en de nombreuses prises sur toute la journée. En revanche, quand il est nourri manuellement, comme c’est le cas aujourd’hui dans la plupart des fermes laitières, les rations sont limitées à une ou deux prises par jour. En réponse à cela, Lely a donc créé Lely Calm, un distributeur automatique de lait pour veaux qui prépare de façon fractionnée, une petite quantité de lait pour le veau, à température exacte et à juste concentration. Ces rations sont adaptées au rythme naturel du veau. Le distributeur automatique Lely Calm assure à vos animaux un bon démarrage et représente une économie de main d’oeuvre. Grâce à Lely Calm, des rations précisément calculées réparties sur toute la journée contribuent de façon substantielle à un meilleur développement de l’appareil digestif. De plus, nourrir et surveiller 60 veaux ne prennent plus que 20 minutes par jour! Le distributeur automatique de lait Lely Calm est donc un plus pour toutes les exploitations laitières où la santé du troupeau est une priorité.

L’élevage de veaux en toute sérénité !

L’élevage de veaux en toute sérénité !

Lorsqu’un veau tète sa mère, sa ration est répartie en de nombreuses prises tout au long de la journée. Toutefois, lorsqu’il est nourri manuellement, comme c’est souvent le cas dans les exploitations laitières, les rations sont limitées à une ou deux prises par jour. Pour pallier cette situation, Lely a lancé le Lely Calm. Ce Distributeur Automatique de Lait pour veaux prépare sur toute la journée des petites quantités de lait dont la température et la concentration sont adaptées aux besoins et au rythme naturel du veau. Le distributeur automatique Lely Calm assure à vos animaux un bon démarrage tout en vous permettant de réaliser – entre autres avantages – de substantielles économies de main-d’oeuvre. Il élabore tout au long de la journée des rations précises en vue de contribuer au bon développement de l’appareil digestif du jeune veau. Une réduction progressive des portions de lait permet d’assurer un sevrage en douceur et, par la même occasion, d’augmenter graduellement leur ingestion de fourrage. Dernier point et non des moindres, suivre vos veaux ne prend désormais plus que quelques minutes par jour. En un mot, le Distributeur Automatique de Lait Lely Calm offre de nombreux avantages pour le plus grand bonheur des éleveurs qui placent la santé de leur troupeau au coeur de leurs préoccupations. Avec le Lely Calm, c’est en quelque sorte une préparation à la traite robotisée qui se met en place : en effet, dès leur plus jeune âge, les veaux apprennent à venir chercher leur lait. Ils prennent de l’assurance, mais surtout s’habituent aux distributeurs automatiques et à leur environnement sonore. Pour l’éleveur, le bénéfice est palpable lorsque la génisse pénètre pour la première fois dans le robot de traite. Le prix d’un Distributeur Automatique de Lait pour veaux Lely Calm est vite amorti puisqu’il permet de renforcer la santé des veaux, d’augmenter leur croissance, d’optimiser leur efficacité alimentaire et de réduire le temps de travail. Avec un retour sur investissement d’à peine 3 ans, le Lely Calm permet de réaliser des économies de main-d’oeuvre de 60% à 70%. Particulièrement fiable, il ne nécessite qu’un entretien minimal.

 

A la carte

À la carte

Lorsqu’un veau pénètre dans la station de buvée, il est tout d’abord électroniquement identifié. En fonction d’un plan d’alimentation personnalisé, le distributeur calcule alors si l’animal doit recevoir une ration de lait et en quelle quantité. Pour chaque veau, il est possible de programmer des portions minimales et maximales de lait par visite. A partir de là, le Lely Calm calcule automatiquement la quantité à distribuer. Lorsque le moment est venu, le distributeur prépare immédiatement une portion de lait frais à température prédéfinie.



Réglage rapide

Réglage rapide

Le Lely Calm assume également une fonction d’apprentissage. En effet, en appuyant brièvement sur le bouton de distribution, vous libérez une portion déterminée ; vos veaux apprennent ainsi à se familiariser avec le distributeur Calm. La station d'alimentation fonctionne à chaque fois de la même façon en préparant des doses prédéterminées à température préréglée. Les veaux s’habituent facilement au principe du distributeur de lait. Les stations de buvée Lely sont faciles à régler selon les tailles des veaux.

 

Une vue d’ensemble de tous vos veaux

Une vue d’ensemble de tous vos veaux

Fonctionnement du Lely Calm
Le Lely Calm mélange une mesure de lait en poudre à une quantité d’eau chaude (à une température de 39°) afin de constituer une ration de lait. Le lait en poudre doit être adapté aux distributeurs automatiques. Le distributeur automatique identifie chaque animal à partir du transpondeur qu’il porte autour du cou. Il est donc en mesure de distribuer des rations totalement personnalisées. Cette fonctionnalité permet à l’éleveur de maintenir des veaux d’âges différents au sein d’un même groupe. Cependant, s’il le souhaite, il peut également exploiter un distributeur pour deux groupes séparés. Le Calm établit une « liste d’alerte » regroupant l’ensemble des veaux qui ne se sont pas alimentés depuis un certain temps. L’éleveur peut donc agir en conséquence.

Temps de main d’oeuvre

Temps de main d’oeuvre

L’un des avantages majeurs du distributeur Lely Calm est l’économie de travail qu’il permet de réaliser, notamment en ce qui concerne la préparation du lait et l’alimentation du veau. Le distributeur pour veaux fonctionne à partir d’une unité centrale, qui prépare le lait et le distribue à une station de buvée où le veau reçoit ses portions. Des gains de temps substantiels sont également possibles : plus besoin de nettoyer ni les seaux, ni le matériel de buvée. Le Lely Calm peut être équipé d’un système de nettoyage automatisé. Les temps de gestion sont réduits de façon drastique grâce aux rapports d’anomalies et aux alertes transmis par le système de gestion. Cela vous permettra de pouvoir consacrer plus de temps à l’observation des veaux.



Économie

Économie

Le prix d’un distributeur automatique de lait pour veaux Lely Calm est vite amorti car les animaux sont en meilleure santé, le GMQ (Gain Moyen Quotidien) est meilleur, la consommation de lait en poudre est réduite et le temps de travail moindre. Lely Calm est un distributeur très fiable qui demande un entretien minimum. Le coût annuel de la machine est donc bien inférieur au profit annuel dégagé par animal. Les veaux rentabiliseront davantage la poudre de lait car ils seront mieux nourris. Une meilleure alimentation réduira également le nombre de visites du vétérinaire, ce qui représente une autre source d’économies. L’un des facteurs les plus important est encore la réduction du temps de travail, surtout sur les grosses exploitations qui emploient du personnel spécialisé pour l’élevage des veaux. Les employés seront soulagés d’une partie de leurs tâches répétitives. Pour une exploitation de 60 veaux par an, la machine sera amortie en trois ans. Nos représentants Lely seront heureux de faire un devis plus adapté à votre exploitation. Grâce à Lely Calm, un meilleur démarrage permettra à vos vaches laitières de rejoindre leur poids d’insémination deux mois plus tôt. Tout cela aura réellement un effet positif sur vos coûts d’élevage de génisses!A tout moment, le distributeur de lait Lely Calm vous permet de garder un oeil sur les performances de vos veaux. En le connectant à votre programme de gestion Lely T4C, vous bénéficiez d’une vue détaillée sur l’ensemble de vos veaux par l’intermédiaire de votre PC. De même, pour chaque animal, vous pouvez générer de nombreux rapports et graphiques relatifs aux rations de lait distribuées. Enfin, vous pouvez programmer des rations de lait frais, de lait en poudre ou d’un mélange des deux.




Hygiène

Hygiène

Le nettoyage du distributeur automatique de lait pour veaux Lely Calm est automatique. D’autres options sont également disponibles pour une meilleure hygiène. Un dispositif de protection contre les mouches épargne le récipient mixeur et le distributeur de poudre contre les éléments extérieurs qui pourraient se déposer dans une ration de lait fraîchement préparée. En hiver, lorsque la vapeur entraîne une condensation sur le distributeur de poudre situé au-dessus du mixeur, cela peut provoquer la formation de grumeaux de poudre de lait dans le distributeur. Pour éviter ce phénomène, il est possible d’installer une barrette chauffante qui assèche la poudre.



Nurserie

Nurserie

Une bonne nurserie offre un maximum de confort aux veaux et permet à l’éleveur de réduire son temps de travail. Chaque veau disposera d’un espace de 1,50 m2 minimum. Les avantages de l’élevage en bande sont nombreux : amélioration des interactions sociales entre veaux, couchage plus propre et plus facile à curer, état de santé du groupe amélioré et observation plus pertinente des veaux. Le distributeur automatique de lait pour veaux Lely Calm doit être placé dans un endroit isolé, avec un accès à l’eau à l’abri du gel, et dans un endroit où une conservation sèche et propre pour la poudre de lait et les concentrés sera possible. Une station de buvée adéquate garantira la bonne croissance des veaux. Chaque animal aura sa propre place à la table d’alimentation.



Principaux avantages

Principaux avantages

• Economie de temps.
• Croissance des veaux plus rapide.
• Meilleur développement du rumen.
• Plus grande fl exibilité.
• Gestion individuelle des animaux.
• Température du lait constante et précise.
• Horaires d’alimentation plus flexibles.
• Minimise le stress des veaux.
• Convient aux exploitations de toute taille.




Favoriser la croissance

Favoriser la croissance

Le système d'alimentation Calm est la solution idéale pour les veaux regroupés dans des enclos collectifs. Selon le type de système, il est possible d’alimenter de 25 à 30 animaux en leur fournissant, chaque jour, plusieurs rations de lait prédéterminées. Ce faisant, on respecte le rythme naturel des veaux. Le distributeur automatique de lait pour veaux prépare chaque portion de la même manière.

  • Une répartition des rations naturelle tout au long de la journée.
  • Des rations toujours fraîches.
  • Une température constante de 39° adaptée au système digestif du veau.
  • Des rations de lait en poudre précises.
  • Des quantités de lait adaptées à l’âge du veau.

 

Le distributeur automatique de lait favorise la croissance et améliore la santé des veaux. Il permet de limiter les décès et d’optimiser la croissance des jeunes veaux. La température et la concentration du lait sont constants et les rations sont spécifiquement adaptées aux besoins de chaque veau. Les animaux peuvent être alimentés quatre fois par jour au départ, puis progressivement sevrés en réduisant petit à petit la quantité de lait. Les veaux disposent alors de plus de temps pour ingurgiter du fourrage et, ainsi stimuler le développement de leur rumen. Les veaux rencontrent moins de problèmes de sevrage et s’adaptent ainsi plus rapidement à leur condition de ruminants.

 


 

 

Site Jolco chez Lely